International Security Index iSi

PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

The Security Index Occasional Paper Series Publishes Policy Memo " If the New START Treaty Expires With No Extension:Scenarios For Russia" image
01.06.2020

The memo presents possible scenarios should the New START Treaty expire without extension. Special attention is being paid to confidence building measures to implement without a treaty-like legal basis. The memo also considers the build-up potential of strategic nuclear forces of Russia and the US.

 

29.05.2020

"As a follow-up to my Memos dated March 27, 2020, April 10, 2020, April 24, 2020 and May 12, 2020, I hereby declare the extension of the remote work mode until June 11, 2020 inclusive, due to the persistence of the complex epidemiological situation in Moscow", – Dr. Vladimir A. Orlov, Director of PIR Center.

26.05.2020

«The circumstances in which the whole world has found itself today have changed, but the importance of nuclear nonproliferation issues and U.S.-Russia dialogue on the NPT review process continues to bring together both young and major experts. I am very glad that modern technologies help us in this. Could anyone predict a year ago, at the last meeting of the working group, that the Review Conference would be rescheduled? Hardly. But this gives us time, and by “us” I mean Russia, the USA and the whole nonproliferation community, time to think creatively about how we can better prepare for it. And our Track 2.5 meetings are devoted to exactly such ideas, fresh and bright, from the next generation of experts», – Director of PIR Center, Head of the Center for Global Trends and International Organizations at the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Federation, Professor at MGIMO University, Co-Chair of the working group Dr. Vladimir Orlov

PIR Center's Particpation in the 2010 NPT Review Conference

On May 3-28, 2010 the Eighth NPT Review Conference is taking place in New York. Having entered into force forty years ago, the NPT has become a cornerstone of the international nuclear nonproliferation regime. The NPT serves as a basis for the promotion of the nuclear disarmament process and is a framework for the peaceful uses of nuclear energy.

International security largely depends on the success of the NPT Review Conference.

PIR Center president Vladimir Orlov is an adviser to the Russian delegation and takes an active part in the work of the Conference. “Ways of Nuclear Disarmament” Project Coordinator Elena Geleskul represents PIR Center.

You can learn more about the Review Conference:

  • White Paper “NPT-2010: Strengthening the Regime” - The objective of this nongovernmental White Paper published by the PIR Center on the eve of the 2010 NPT Review Conference is to define the hot issues currently affecting the nuclear nonproliferation and to suggest the set of specific policy recommendations on how to break the deadlocks and strengthen the regime.

PIR Center's materials:

Conference materials:

loading