Projects

“A world without nuclear weapons is a long-term goal which we need to start working towards right now. It is possible that at some point in the future...

Articles

Dear Tom,

It is a pleasure to have the chance to correspond with you, and I am grateful to the Security Index for this exchange. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on whether a policy of nuclear disarmament is appropriate within the current international security climate.

For my part, I a...

Divergent perceptions of the proliferation threat play a significant role in the nonproliferation regime. By analyzing threat perception and resulting state policy preferences, the authors help identify issues on which a convergence of views, if not consensus, might be generated, and highlight those...

The year 2012 marks the ten-year anniversary of UN General Assembly resolution 57/60 and the UN Secretary General's report on disarmament and non-proliferation education. At the very beginning of the 21st century, it became clear that a new wave of interest in atomic energy, dubbed the "nuclear rena...

On December 25, 1991, Mikhail Gorbachev handed over his briefcase containing Russia's nuclear launch codes to Boris Yeltsin. Eighteen months after Russia declared its sovereignty from the Soviet Union and six months after his election as Russian president, Yeltsin received the keys to the contry's n...

Experts

  • Position : Founder
  • Affiliation : PIR Center
  • Affiliation : Professor, Major General (retired), Chief Research Associate, Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO)
  • Affiliation : Counsellor, Aspect-Conversion. PIR Center Executive Board member, Security Index Editorial Board Member
  • Affiliation : Director, Center for Energy and Security Studies (CENESS)
  • Affiliation : Journalist
complete list

PIR Center together with Carnegie Moscow Center holds The Second Moscow International Nonproliferation Conference 20.09.2003

Carnegie Moscow Center, Carnegie Endowment for International Peace

The Second Moscow International Nonproliferation Conference took place from 19 to 20 September 2003 in Hotel Metropol, gathering more than 300 key experts and official from 36 countries to discuss the critical nonproliferation issues of the day.

The Conference was co-organized by the two leading nonproliferation research organizations - Carnegie Moscow Center and the Center for Policy Studies in Russia (PIR Center) with the support from the Carnegie Endowment for International Peace (CEIP).

sergeev.jpg"The current Moscow International Nonproliferation Conference, unlike the previous one, is taking place in the environment that has changed. The range of challenges to international security has broadened, and, most importantly, the imminence of the threat has grown," stated the Assistant to the President of Russian on Strategic Stability Igor Sergeev in his welcoming address to the participants of the Conference.

Addressing the Conference, the Under-Secretary-General for Disarmament Affairs Nobuyasu Abe noted that "the imminent threat of nuclear proliferation and the heightened concern about the use of "weapons of mass destruction" (WMD) by non-state actors surely justify a fresh look at the global non-proliferation regimes as an urgent matter."

Raising the question about how to deal with this threat, the Director of Carnegie Moscow Center Andrew Kuchins emphasized that the right answer consists in "effective combining of already existing international regimes."

"No one is going to denounce or to revise the NPT Treaty," noted in his address to the Conference PIR Center Director Vladimir Orlov. "The Treaty represents a rare case when 11 small articles are protecting the world from the spread of nuclear weapons. If there were no such a Treaty, we would have had around 40 nuclear-weapon states by now. The NPT Treaty has been working well and there is no need to revise it. In 2005 we will simply review it to see how to increase its effectiveness," said Vladimir Orlov. 


abe.jpgIn Mr. Abe's opinion, "the United States and the Russian Federation bear special responsibility for strengthening the nonproliferation regime as the world's two "Superpowers". This view is shared by Andrew Kuchins, who noted that "only strong US-Russia cooperation can help to solve the WMD proliferation problem."

Speaking to the conference, the US Secretary of Energy Spencer Abraham expressed his confidence that the US Congress will approve a budgetary request, put forward by DOE, to increase funding for nuclear security programs up to 1,3 billion dollars, what would help nonproliferation programs in Russia.

At the same time, while answering the questions, Russia's Minister on Atomic Energy Aleksandr Rumyantsev stressed that "Minatom possesses enough financial resources, both budgetary and accumulated during the commercial activities, to launch the process of strengthening nonproliferation in Russia".rumyantsev.jpg

Other topics of discussion also included the threat of terrorism with the use of nuclear, chemical and biological weapons, Iranian nuclear program, the North Korean "nuclear puzzle," etc.

The proceedings of the Second Moscow International Nonproliferation Conference were widely covered by the Russian and Western mass media. 83 journalists, representing 51 medias from 17 countries took part in the Conference.


Agenda (PDF-file)

Participants (PDF-file)

Comments

 
 
loading

Проекты

«Безъядерный мир – это долгосрочная перспектива, над которой нужно работать уже сейчас. Возможно, что в дальнейшем необходимо начать думать о модерниз...

Статьи

Роль ядерной энергетики как фактора обеспечения стабильного и устойчивого экономического и социально-политического развития будет возрастать. В случае долгосрочного и полномасштабного развития ядерной энергетики необходимо начать обсуждение мер, которые позволят достичь консенсуса в решении проблемы...

В статье рассмотрены программа Глобального партнерства против распространения оружия и материалов массового уничтожения и Международный научно-технический центр. На примере этих взаимосвязанных международных механизмов сделана попытка оценить потенциальные возможности оказать позитивное воздействие ...

В силу того, что чувствительные ядерные технологии являются технологиями двойного назначения, компенсировать несовершенство существующего режима ядерного нераспространения исключительно техническими мерами невозможно. Для решения этой проблемы необходимо привлекать международные институциональные ме...

Уважаемый Том,

Я с большим удовольствием вступаю с вами в эту переписку и благодарен журналу Индекс Безопасности за то, что они предоставили нам эту возможность. Мне крайне любопытно узнать Ваше мнение о том, есть ли место политике ядерного разоружения в сложившемся климате международной безопасност...

Эксперты

  • Место работы : Главный научный сотрудник, ИМЭМО РАН
  • Место работы : член Совета ПИР-Центра, Советник АНО Аспект-конверсия,
  • Место работы : Директор, Центр энергетики и безопасности
  • Место работы : Журналист
  • Место работы : Директор Центра поддержки разоружения и нераспространения Японского института международных отношений
Все эксперты

ПИР-Центр совместно с Московским Центром Карнеги проводит Вторую Московскую международную конференцию по нераспространению 20.09.2003

Московский Центр Карнеги, Фонд Карнеги за международный мир

C 18 по 20 сентября 2003 г. в отеле "Метрополь" прошла Вторая Московская международная конференция по нераспространению, собравшая для обсуждения актуальных вопросов нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения более 300 крупнейших специалистов из 36 стран мира.

Конференция была организована совместно двумя ведущими неправительственными организациями в области нераспространения, контроля над вооружениями и международной безопасности, - Московским Центром Карнеги и ПИР-Центром политических исследований - при поддержке Фонда Карнеги за международный мир.

sergeev.jpg"Нынешняя Московская международная конференция по нераспространению в отличие от предыдущей проходит в изменившихся условиях. Расширился спектр угроз международной безопасности и, главное, возросла реальность их осуществления", - заявил в своем обращении к участникам Второй Московской международной конференции по нераспространению помощник Президента РФ по вопросам стратегической стабильности И.Д. Сергеев.

Выступая на конференции, заместитель Генерального секретаря ООН по вопросам разоружения Нобуясу Абе отметил, что "в настоящее время существует большая опасность распространения ОМУ и средств его доставки". abe.jpg

Задав извечный вопрос "Что делать?" в отношении этой угрозы, директор Московского Центра Карнеги Эндрю Качинс подчеркнул, что "ответ состоит в эффективном синтетическом комбинировании уже существующих международных режимов".

"Никто не собирается аннулировать или пересматривать Договор о нераспространении ядерного оружия, - отметил, выступая перед участниками конференции, директор ПИР-Центра В.А. Орлов". - "Это тот редкий случай, когда 11 небольших статей защищают мир от распространения ядерного оружия. Если бы не было соглашения, мы бы имели сейчас около 40 ядерных государств. Договор до сих пор прекрасно работает, и необходимости в его ревизии нет. В 2005 году мы просто рассмотрим вопрос о повышении его эффективности".

По мнению г-на Абе, "США и Россия, как две мировые сверхдержавы, несут особую ответственность за укрепление режима нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения". Эту позицию разделяет и Эндрю Качинс, заметивший, что "только при условии развития тесного российско-американского партнерства возможно решение проблемы распространения ОМУ".

Министр энергетики США Спенсер Абрахам, выступая в рамках конференции выразил уверенность, что "Конгресс США удовлетворит запрос Министерства энергетики на увеличение в следующем году бюджетных средств, выделяемых на программы ядерной безопасности, до 1,3 млрд долларов", что поможет решению проблемы нераспространения в России.

rumyantsev.jpgВ тоже время, отвечая на вопросы участников конференции, министр по атомной энергии России А.Ю. Румянцев подчеркнул, что "Минатом имеет достаточно средств как бюджетных, так и накопленных в результате своей коммерческой деятельности, чтобы запустить процесс усиления режима нераспространения".

Другими темами для обсуждения в рамках конференции стали: угроза терроризма с использованием ядерного, химического или биологического оружия; ядерная программа Ирана; северокорейский узел и др.

Ход Второй Московской международной конференции по нераспространению широко освещался российскими и зарубежными средствами массовой информации. В конференции приняли участие 83 журналиста из 51 СМИ, представляющих 17 стран мира.


Повестка дня конференции (в формате PDF)

Участники (в формате PDF) 

Обсуждение

 
 
loading