Projects

“A world without nuclear weapons is a long-term goal which we need to start working towards right now. It is possible that at some point in the future...

The immense majority of countries and peoples stand for a nuclear-weapons-free world. The Russian Federation shares this noble goal.

Prime Minister of...

«I welcome the initiative to create Centre russe d'études politiques. This will make a significant contribution to strengthening the strategic dialogu...

Articles

Since Barack Obama administration took office in 2009, it has put considerable effort into placing nuclear disarmament and nonproliferation at the center of the U.S. nuclear policy. In April 2009 in Prague American president delivered a speech where he called for complete elimination of nuclear weap...

Various ideas for establishing a nuclear weapons-free zone in the Middle East were first voiced in the early 1960s. Nevertheless, negotiations on establishing a WMD-free zone in the region remain very far from conclusion. The establishment of a WMD-free zone in the Middle East was part of the 1995 N...

The fast moving controversial developments in the Middle East and North Africa seem to be sidelining the search for responses to some fundamental security challenges in the region. This refers, among many other issues, to the discussion of steps for the preparation and successful conduct of this yea...

Dear Tom,

It is a pleasure to have the chance to correspond with you, and I am grateful to the Security Index for this exchange. I am looking forward to hearing your thoughts on whether a policy of nuclear disarmament is appropriate within the current international security climate.

For my part, I a...

Experts

  • Position : Founder
  • Affiliation : PIR Center
  • Position : Member of the Executive Board, Head of Research Department; Professor of International Relations
  • Affiliation : Research Department "International Security and World Order", Peace Research Institute Frankfurt; Goethe University of Frankfurt
  • Affiliation : Founder and Director of the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies of the Monterey Institute of International Studies.
  • Position : Deputy Minister
  • Affiliation : The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
  • Position : Permanent Representative
  • Affiliation : Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation to FAO and other UN agencies in Rome
complete list

High-level workshop on “Nuclear Nonproliferation and Disarmament: Challenges and Priorities for Future International Cooperation” 01.10.2009

On October 1-3, 2009 the international high-level workshop on “Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament: Challenges and Priorities for Future International Co-operation”, co-sponsored by the Geneva Centre for Security Policy (GCSP), the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland (FDFA), the PIR Center (Moscow), James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies and Carnegie Corporation of New York, took place in a mountain village of Gstaad, Switzerland. The workshop became the 4th event within the framework of the Gstaad Process initiated in 2006 in accordance with the concept proposed by Dr. Vladimir Orlov and supported by the Swiss FDFA.

Being an informal forum, the Gstaad Process encourages the leading experts in the field of international security, nuclear nonproliferation and disarmament to share their opinions. The participants discussed the major challenges to nonproliferation and disarmament, prospects of signing and ratification of the START replacement Treaty, prospects for entry into force of the CTBT, status and future of the Fissile Materials Cut-off Treaty talks; upcoming 2010 NPT Review Conference and ways to make it a success, as well as the regional aspects of nonproliferation and disarmament – Iran, North Korea and Pakistan.

Speaking about Russian-American dialogue, Head of the Russian delegation at the negations on the strategic offensive weapons Anatoly Antonov noted that “While the Russian-American agreements in the strategic sphere are important, it would be wrong to confine the nuclear disarmament problem only to these relations. We hope that at the 2010 NPT Review Conference we will have an open discussion on what additional contribution other nuclear-weapons states can bring to this process. It is important, that already in the immediate prospects they could step-by-step join the efforts of Russia and the United States.”

More than 30 representatives including statesmen and internationally renowned experts from Europe, Russia, the United States took part in the seminar including President of the Ploughshares Fund Joseph Cirincione, Assistant Director at-large of the Office of Science and Technology Policy of the Executive Office of the US President Steven Fetter; Director of the Fondation Recherche Stratégique (Paris) Camille Grand; Principal Deputy Assistant Secretary of the Bureau of Verification and Compliance of the US Department of State Karin Look, Executive Director of the Peace Research Institute (Frankfurt) Dr. Harald Müller, Head of Political Affairs Secretariat of the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs of Switzerland Ambassador Jacques Pitteloud, Director of the James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies of the Monterey Institute of International Studies William Potter, Head of the Verification and Security Policy Coordination at the IAEA Tariq Rauf and other.

Russian experts included Director of the Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament of the Russian MFA, PIR Center Advisory Board member Anatoly Antonov, Lieutenant-General (ret.), Senior Vice President of PIR Center, former Head of the Department on the Disarmament Problems and WMD Nonproliferation of the Russian Foreign Intelligence Service (SVR) (1991-2000) Gennady Evstafiev, Research Associate of PIR Center Elena Geleskul, PIR Center President Dr. Vladimir Orlov, Head of Strategic Studies Department of the International Security Center of the Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO), PIR Center Advisory Board member Dr. Alexander Savelyev, Chairman of the Commission on Security Policy and Evaluation of Defense Legislation of the Public Board at the Russian Federation Ministry of Defense, PIR Center Advisory Board member Dr. Vitaly Shlykov, Deputy Permanent Representative of the Permanent Mission of the Russian Federation Mission to the United Nations in Geneva Victor Vasiliev, Deputy Head of the Department of International Cooperation, State Atomic Energy Corporation Rosatom, PIR Center Advisory Board member Aleksey Ubeev.

Comments

 
 
loading

Проекты

«Безъядерный мир – это долгосрочная перспектива, над которой нужно работать уже сейчас. Возможно, что в дальнейшем необходимо начать думать о модерниз...

«Подавляющее большинство стран и народов выступают за мир, свободный от ядерного оружия. Россия разделяет эту благородную цель».

Премьер-министр Росс...

«Я приветствую создание Centre russe d'études politiques. Это внесет значительный вклад в укрепление стратегического диалога между Россией, Европой и ...

Статьи

С тех пор как администрация Барака Обамы пришла к власти в 2009 году, ею были приложены значительные усилия по актуализации ядерного разоружения и нераспространения в ядерной политике США. В апреле 2009 года в Праге американский президент выступил с речью, в которой он призвал к полному уничтожению ...

Идеи о создании на Ближнем Востоке зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия, берут свое начало еще в 60-е годы XX в. Тем не менее, переговорный процесс по учреждению, теперь уже зоны свободной от оружия массового уничтожения (ЗСОМУ), как и раньше, далек от завершения. Учреждение ЗСОМУ на Ближнем Востоке з...

Насколько адекватна идея ядерного разоружения в современной международной обстановке? Каковы перспективы участия США в процессе сокращения ядерных арсеналов? Достижим ли ядерный ноль? Как воспринимают инициативы и действия России в США? Мы публикуем переписку двух американских экспертов, которые дал...

Что стоит включать в понятие нестратегического ядерного оружия (НСЯО)? Как вести переговоры — в двустороннем или в многостороннем формате? Будет ли результат у инициатив по сокращению НСЯО в Европе? Об этом спорят участники семинара ПИР-Центра «Будущее нестратегического ядерного оружия в Европе: про...

Эксперты

  • Место работы : Старший научный сотрудник, Франкфуртский институт проблем мира
  • Место работы : Lиректор, Центр изучения проблем нераспространения им. Дж. Мартина, Миддлберийский институт международных исследований в Монтерее
  • Должность : Заместитель министра
  • Место работы : Министерство иностранных дел Российской Федерации
  • Место работы : Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, Полномочный представитель Российской Федерации при Продовольственной и сельскохозяйственной организации Объединенных Наций (ФАО) и других международных организациях в Риме
  • Место работы : Президент, Фонд Плаушерс
Все эксперты

Семинар «Ядерное нераспространение и разоружение: вызовы и задачи для будущего международного сотрудничества» 01.10.2009

1-3 октября с.г. в горной деревушке Гштаад (Швейцария) состоялся семинар на тему «Ядерное нераспространение и разоружение: вызовы и задачи для будущего международного сотрудничества», организаторами которого выступили Центр политических исследований России (ПИР-Центр), Женевский центр политики безопасности, Федеральный департамент иностранных дел Швейцарии, Центр исследования проблем нераспространения им. Джеймса Мартина при Монтерейском институте международных исследований и Корпорация Карнеги в Нью-Йорке. Семинар стал четвертым мероприятием Гштаадского процесса, который был инициирован в августе 2006 г.

Будучи неформальным форумом, Гштаадский процесс способствует обмену мнениями между ведущими экспертами по международной безопасности, нераспространению и разоружению. Участники встречи смогли обсудить основные вызовы режиму нераспространения и разоружения, перспективы подписания и ратификации нового договора о СНВ, перспективы ратификации и вступления в силу ДВЗЯИ, перспективы начала переговоров по договору по ЗПРМ, перспективы предстоящей Обзорной конференции по ДНЯО 2010 г., а также региональные аспекты нераспространения и разоружения – Иран, КНДР, Пакистан.

Говоря о российско-американском диалоге, глава российской делегации на переговорах по СНВ Анатолий Антонов отметил, что «при всей важности российско-американских договоренностей в стратегической сфере, сводить только к ним проблему ядерного разоружения было бы неправильно. Рассчитываем, что на Обзорной конференции ДНЯО 2010 г. состоится откровенный разговор о том, какой дополнительный вклад в этот процесс могут внести другие ядерные государства-члены Договора. Важно, чтобы уже в ближайшей перспективе они могли бы постепенно присоединиться к усилиям, предпринимаемыми Россией и США».

В семинаре приняли участие более 30 представителей из Европы, России и США - государственные деятели и признанные эксперты по вопросам международной безопасности: президент Фонда Плаушерс Джозеф Сиринционе, глава представительства Швейцарии при НАТО Жан-Жак дю Дардель, профессор университета Мэриленд Катарин Келлехер, глава Департамента по вопросам контроля над вооружениями и нераспространением Совета национальной безопасности США Джордж Лоок, заместитель директора Института исследования проблем мира во Франкфурте Харальд Мюллер, глава Департамента по вопросам безопасности МИД Швейцарии Жак Питтлу, директор Центра изучения проблем нераспространения им. Дж. Мартина при Монтерейском институте международных исследований Уильям Поттер, глава Департамента по вопросам верификации и политики безопасности МАГАТЭ Тарик Рауф,

Среди российских экспертов и официальных лиц, принявших участие в семинаре, следует выделить директора Департамента по вопросам безопасности и разоружения МИД РФ Анатолия Антонова, заместителя главы российской представительства при ООН в Женеве Виктора Васильева, старшего вице-президента ПИР-Центра, генерал-лейтенанта (в отставке) Геннадия Евстафьева, заведующего отделом стратегических исследований Центра международной безопасности ИМЭМО РАН Александра Савельева, заместителя директора Департамента международного сотрудничества Государственной корпорация по атомной энергии Росатом Алексея Убеева.

Делегация ПИР-Центра была представлена президентом Владимиром Орловым, старшим вице-президентом Геннадием Евстафьевым и научным сотрудником Еленой Гелескул.

Обсуждение

 
 
loading