Projects

“A world without nuclear weapons is a long-term goal which we need to start working towards right now. It is possible that at some point in the future...

Articles

Since Barack Obama administration took office in 2009, it has put considerable effort into placing nuclear disarmament and nonproliferation at the center of the U.S. nuclear policy. In April 2009 in Prague American president delivered a speech where he called for complete elimination of nuclear weap...

Various ideas for establishing a nuclear weapons-free zone in the Middle East were first voiced in the early 1960s. Nevertheless, negotiations on establishing a WMD-free zone in the region remain very far from conclusion. The establishment of a WMD-free zone in the Middle East was part of the 1995 N...

The Iranian nuclear program: is it a threat, and can it trigger an arms race in the Middle East? Or are rumors about its dangers much exaggerated? What are the main problems with the approaches being used by the international community to address the issue? What are the steps Iran itself is prepared...

The 2010 NPT Review Conference called on the states which possess the largest nuclear arsenals to play the leading role in implementing its Action Plan. The article discusses specific steps which could be undertaken by Russia and theUnited States in the near time frame in order to implement the Plan...

Experts

  • Position : Chairman of the Executive Board; Chairman of the "Trialogue" Club International
  • Affiliation : PIR Center
  • Affiliation : Founding Director, Acronym Institute
  • Affiliation : Deputy Director, Department for Nonproliferation and Arms Control, Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
complete list

Сonference “Preparing to the 2010 NPT Review Conference: What should be done?” 24.02.2010

On February 24, 2010 in hotel National (Moscow) within a framework of joint project with the Nuclear Threat Initiative (NTI) “Ways towards Nuclear Disarmament” PIR Center held a conference titled “Preparing to the 2010 NPT Review Conference: What should be done?

Presentations and comments were made by:

  • Oleg Rozhkov, Deputy Director of the Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Russia;
  • John Beyrle, Ambassador of the United States of America to Russia;
  • Roland Timerbaev, Ambassador Extraordinary and Plenipotentiary, Member of the PIR Center's Executive Board;
  • Walter Giger, Ambassador of Switzerland to Russia;
  • Rebecca Johnson, Executive Director of the Acronym Institute (London, United Kingdom)
  • Evgeny Buzhinsky, Lieutenant-General, Head of the International Treaties Department; Deputy Head of the Main Directorate for International Military Cooperation of the Russian Defense Ministry (2002-2009).

In May 2010 next NPT Review Conference will take place in New York. All speakers noted the need to achieve success at the Conference. During presentations and in subsequent discussions issues of the IAEA safeguards, nuclear disarmament, problems of the entry into force of the CTBT, Middle East, multilateral approaches to nuclear fuel cycle, Iranian nuclear program and Russia's position on sanctions were discussed.

The presentation of John Beyrle, Ambassador of the United States of America to Russia, was devoted to the preparatory work  carried out by the United States on the eve of the upcoming Review Conference, and also to the main, from the American point of view, problems of the nonproliferation regime: the growing state and non-state actors interest to nuclear weapons, the presence of the loopholes in the IAEA verification system, the non-fulfillment of NPT obligations by some states and the threat of nuclear terrorism. At the same time, according to the Ambassador, "The US government is actively working on strengthening the NPT and enhancement of the IAEA capabilities. We are also ready to continue cooperation with Russia on nuclear disarmament issues".

Oleg Rozhkov, Deputy Director of the Department for Security Affairs and Disarmament of Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs, gave a comprehensive analysis of the Russian position. According to him, from the upcoming Review Conference Moscow expects reaffirmation of the NPT significance at the international level, as well as universalization of the IAEA safeguards system. Moreover, he announced Russian proposals on the Middle East and the peaceful use of nuclear energy.

Answering a question about Russian participation in sanctions against Iran, Oleg Rozhkov said, that "It is doubtful that Russia would ever support sanctions, which aim at isolating Iran in military-political, economic or financial spheres, because Russia is not working on overthrowing the existing political regime in Teheran."

Situation around Iranian nuclear program warranted many questions from the participants. Lieutenant-General Evgeny Buzhinsky said: “Sanctions against Iran will not be able to prevent Iran creating nuclear weapons. At the same time, the US demands to stop military-technical cooperation between Russia and Iran are unfair.”

More than 60 participants took part in the Conference, including representatives of the Russian Foreign Ministry, Ministry of Defense, academic experts, representatives of embassies and international organizations.

Materials from the previous seminars and round tables, as well as publications on disarmament issues can be found on PIR Center's website in the section devoted to “Ways Towards Nuclear Disarmament” Project

Comments

 
 
loading

Проекты

«Безъядерный мир – это долгосрочная перспектива, над которой нужно работать уже сейчас. Возможно, что в дальнейшем необходимо начать думать о модерниз...

Статьи

С тех пор как администрация Барака Обамы пришла к власти в 2009 году, ею были приложены значительные усилия по актуализации ядерного разоружения и нераспространения в ядерной политике США. В апреле 2009 года в Праге американский президент выступил с речью, в которой он призвал к полному уничтожению ...

Идеи о создании на Ближнем Востоке зоны, свободной от ядерного оружия, берут свое начало еще в 60-е годы XX в. Тем не менее, переговорный процесс по учреждению, теперь уже зоны свободной от оружия массового уничтожения (ЗСОМУ), как и раньше, далек от завершения. Учреждение ЗСОМУ на Ближнем Востоке з...

Возможность начала военной операции США против Ирана — активно обсуждаемая сегодня международная тема. Мировое экспертное сообщество пытается ответить на вопросы, составляющие суть проблемы противостояния США и Ирана. Решатся ли США на применение военной силы для разрешения иранского кризиса? Каковы...

Каковы приоритеты России в сфере противодействия отмыванию средств, полученных преступным путем? По каким ключевым направлениями происходит взаимодействие России с ФАТФ и региональными организациями, созданными по модели ФАТФ? На что будет сделан упор во время председательства России в ФАТФ? На вопр...

Эксперты

  • Должность : Председатель Совета; Председатель Международного клуба "Триалог"
  • Место работы : ПИР-Центр
  • Место работы : Директор, Институт Акроним
  • Место работы : Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол
  • Место работы : Заместитель директора, Департамент по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями, Министерство иностранных дел России
Все эксперты

Конференция «Подготовка к Обзорной конференции ДНЯО: что надо сделать для достижения успеха?» 24.02.2010

24 февраля 2010 г. в г-це Националь (Москва) в рамках совместного проекта с фондом «Инициатива по сокращению ядерной угрозы» (NTI) «Пути ядерного разоружения» ПИР-Центр провел конференцию на тему «Подготовка к Обзорной конференции ДНЯО: что надо сделать для достижения успеха?».

С докладами и комментариями на конференции выступили:

  • Олег Рожков, заместитель директора Департамента по вопросам безопасности и разоружения (ДВБР) МИД РФ
  • Джон Байерли, Посол США в России
  • Роланд Тимербаев, Чрезвычайный и Полномочный Посол, член Экспертно-Консультативного Совета ПИР-Центра
  • Вальтер Гигер, Посол Швейцарии в России
  • Ребекка Джонсон, исполнительный директор института Акроним (Лондон, Великобритания)
  • Евгений Бужинский, генерал-лейтенант, начальник Международно-договорного управления – заместитель начальника Главного управления международного военного сотрудничества МО РФ (2002-2009 гг.)

В мае 2010 г. в Нью-Йорке состоится очередная Обзорная конференция по рассмотрению действия ДНЯО. О необходимости достижения успеха на ней говорили все выступающие. Кроме того, в ходе выступлений докладчиков и последующей дискуссии обсуждались вопросы гарантий МАГАТЭ, ядерное разоружение, проблемы вступления в силу ДВЗЯИ, ближневосточный вопрос, многосторонние подходы к ЯТЦ, иранская ядерная программа и российская позиция по санкциям.

Выступление Посла США в РФ Джона Байерли было посвящено подготовительной работе, которую проводят Соединенные Штаты в преддверии предстоящей Обзорной конференции, а также основным, с точки зрения США, проблемам режима нераспространения: росту интереса государственных и негосударственных игроков к ядерному оружию, наличию дыр в системе проверок МАГАТЭ, невыполнению рядом государств своих обязательств по ДНЯО и существованию угрозы ядерного терроризма. В тоже время, по словам Посла, «США активно работают над укреплением ДНЯО, усилением возможностей МАГАТЭ, а также готовы продолжать сотрудничество с Россией по вопросам ядерного разоружения». 

Развернутый анализ российской позиции дал заместитель директора ДВБР МИД РФ Олег Рожков. От предстоящей Обзорной конференции, по его словам, Москва ожидает подтверждения значимости ДНЯО на международном уровне, а также универсализации системы гарантий МАГАТЭ. Кроме того, были озвучены предложения России по ближневосточной ситуации и мирному использованию атомной энергии.

Отвечая на вопрос об участии России в санкциях против Ирана, Олег Рожков отметил, что «Россия вряд ли когда-нибудь поддержит санкции, направленные на военно-политическую, экономическую или финансовую изоляцию Ирана, так как Россия не работает на свержение существующего режима в Тегеране».

Ситуация вокруг иранской ядерной программы вызвала немало вопросов у участников конференции. Так, в ходе обсуждения генерал-лейтенант Евгений Бужинский отметил, что «санкции против Ирана не способны предотвратить появление ядерного оружия в Иране. В тоже время, требование, высказываемые Соединенными Штатами к России о прекращении ВТС с Ираном, несправедливы».

В конференции приняли участие более 60 человек: представители МИД и Министерства обороны России, научно-экспертного сообщества, посольств, представительств иностранных государств и международных организаций.

Материалы прошедших семинаров и круглых столов, а также публикации по вопросам разоружения Вы можете найти на сайте ПИР-Центра в разделе «Пути ядерного разоружения».

Обсуждение

 
 
loading