Articles

An expert of the International Peace Research Institute in Oslo presents his controversial view of Russia's policy inCentral Asia with the focus on energy security and potential alliances within the Russia-China-United States triangle. Baev criticizes Moscow for the lack of strategic insight and pre...

All articles

Expert

Baev, Pavel K. image
Name: Baev, Pavel K.
City: Oslo, Norway
Affiliation: Prof., Peace Research Institute Oslo (PRIO)
Biography :

In 1979 graduated from Moscow State University (Political Geography) and worked in a research institute of the USSR Ministry of Defence. After receiving PhD in International Relations from the Institute of USA and Canada (Moscow) in 1988, he worked at the Institute of Europe (Moscow) until October 1992, when he joined PRIO. In 1995-2001 he was a co-editor of Security Dialogue, a quarterly policy-oriented journal produced at PRIO, and in 2000-2004 he was the head of the Foreign and Security Policies program. Author of several books, among them The Russian Army in a Time of Troubles (London: SAGE, 1996). His articles on the Russian military posture, Russian-European relations, peacekeeping and conflict management in Europe appeared in numerous respected academic journals. Dr. Baev also prepares weekly comments for Eurasia Daily Monitor. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2007.

Comments

 
 

Expert's commentaries

Predictable as it was, Vladimir Putin’s decision to take back the position of supreme authority in Russia’s constitutionally super-presidential state is a great disappointment to Western leaders, and particularly to US President Barack Obama, who cultivated a close personal relation with hapless Dmi...

An expert of the International Peace Research Institute in Oslo presents his controversial view of Russia's policy inCentral Asia with the focus on energy security and potential alliances within the Russia-China-United States triangle. Baev criticizes Moscow for the lack of strategic insight and pre...

All articles
loading

Статьи

Старший научный сотрудник Норвежского института исследования проблем мира категорически не согласен с попыткой трактовки российско-американских отношений только через призму геополитики. Он убежден, что подобное видение ограничивает возможности для сотрудничества и по умолчанию направляет взаимодейс...

Все Статьи

Эксперт

Баев Павел Кимович image
ФИО: Баев Павел Кимович
Местоположение: Осло, Норвегия
Место работы: Проф., Международный институт исследований проблем мира
Биография:

К.и.н. В 1979 г. окончил географический факультет МГУ по специальности экономическая география зарубежных стран. По окончании Московского государственного университета (со степенью магистра политической географии, 1979 г.), профессор Баев работал в исследовательском институте при Министерстве обороны СССР, а затем в Московском институте Европы до начала своей деятельности в PRIO в октябре 1992 года. В 1995-2001 годах работал редактором ежеквартального журнала PRIO «Security Dialogue». Его научная деятельность охватывает такие сферы, как преобразования в российской армии, энергетические аспекты российско-европейских отношений и постсоветские конфликты на Кавказе и в каспийском регионе. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2007 года.

Обсуждение

 
 

Комментарии эксперта

Несмотря на всю предсказуемость, решение Владимира Путина вернуться на главный пост в сверхпрезидентском государстве, каковым является Россия, стало большим разочарованием для западных лидеров, и в особенности для Президента США Барака Обамы, который успел наладить хорошие личные отношения с незадач...

Старший научный сотрудник Норвежского института исследования проблем мира категорически не согласен с попыткой трактовки российско-американских отношений только через призму геополитики. Он убежден, что подобное видение ограничивает возможности для сотрудничества и по умолчанию направляет взаимодейс...

Все Статьи
loading