Articles

On April 8, 2010, the day when the New START Treaty was signed, PIR Center in collaboration with the Ploughshares Fund established the Sustainable Partnership with Russia (SuPR) Group. The SuPR Group's main objective was to support continuing and long-lasting success in the efforts by the Russian Fe...

Security Index has obtained  rights to the publication of an excerpt of the upcoming book by this authoritative American journalist on the unknown pages in the history of the U.S.-Soviet confrontation.  The article is dedicated to 1983, one of the most tense years of the Cold War.  It was the year t...

All articles

News

05.09.2014

On October 4, 2014, PIR Center will announce honorary awards for strengthening the WMD nonproliferation regime. We invite our colleagues from across the world to propose candidates for the nominations until September 20.

All News

Expert

Hoffman David image
Name: Hoffman David
Affiliation: Journalist
Biography :

David Hoffman is Contributing Editor at the Washington Post and has been a journalist for more than 30 years. He recently published his second book, The Dead Hand: The Untold Story of the Cold War Arms Race and its Dangerous Legacy. He is a winner of the Pulitzer Prize in 2010. Mr. Hoffman came to Washington in 1977 to cover Congress, and later served as the Washington correspondent for the San Jose Mercury-News. He covered Ronald Reagan's campaign for the presidency in 1980, and was national economics correspondent for Knight-Ridder Newspapers. In 1982, he joined The Washington Post to cover the Reagan presidency. As a White House correspondent, he covered the major U.S.-Soviet summits of the Reagan years, including Geneva and Reykjavik, as well as domestic policy and politics. After Reagan left office, he covered the George H. W. Bush presidency. Later, he was diplomatic correspondent at the time the Soviet Union collapsed, and then served as Jerusalem correspondent, covering the Oslo peace accords. From 1995 to 2001, he served as Moscow bureau chief. His first book, based on reporting in Moscow, was The Oligarchs: Wealth and Power in the New Russia. On returning to Washington in 2001, Mr. Hoffman was named Foreign Editor and then Assistant Managing Editor for foreign news, managing the Post's foreign service, until 2009. Member of the Sustainable Partnership with Russia (SuPR) Group since 2009.

Expert's commentaries

Security Index has obtained  rights to the publication of an excerpt of the upcoming book by this authoritative American journalist on the unknown pages in the history of the U.S.-Soviet confrontation.  The article is dedicated to 1983, one of the most tense years of the Cold War.  It was the year t...

All articles
loading

Статьи

8 апреля 2010 г., в день подписания нового договора СНВ, был создан Совет по устойчивому партнерству с Россией (СУПР). Основателями Совета выступили  ПИР-Центр и Фонд Плаушерс. Основная цель созданного Совета заключалась в поддержке усилий по налаживанию стабильного и долгосрочного партнерства между...

Дэвид Хоффман

Индекс Безопасности получил эксклюзивные права на перевод и публикацию фрагмента из будущей книги авторитетного американского журналиста о неизвестных страницах истории противостояния СССР и США. Статья посвящена 1983 году и самым напряженным моментам холодной войны. Именно в этом году Рейган выступ...

Все Статьи

Новости

05.09.2014

4 октября 2014 г. состоится вручение почетных наград ПИР-Центра за вклад в укрепление режима нераспространения оружия массового уничтожения. Мы приглашаем наших коллег со всего мира выдвигать кандидатуры на награждение в указанных номинациях до 20 сентября. 

Все Новости

Эксперт

Хоффман Дэвид image
ФИО: Хоффман Дэвид
Место работы: Журналист
Биография:

Работал корреспондентом в Сан-Хосе Меркюри Ньюс в Вашингтоне. Освящал президентскую компанию Рональда Рейгана 1980 года. В 1982 году начал свою работу в Washington Post. Как корреспондент, аккредитованный при Белом Доме, освещал главный саммит США–СССР в период президентства Рейгана, в Рейкьявике. После того как Рейган покинул пост президента, господин Хоффман освещал президентство Джорджа Буша–старшего. Также корреспондентом во время распада СССР. С 1995 до 2001 гг. возглавлял Московское Бюро Washington Post. Его первая книга, основанная на репортажах из Москвы, называется «Олигархи: Богатство и Власть в новой России». По возвращению в Вашингтон в 2001 году был назначен редактором зарубежных новостей, после помощником главного редактора международного отдела, возглавлял службу международных новостей Washington Post . Автор книги “The Dead Hand: The Untold Story of the Cold War Arms Race and its Dangerous Legacy”.Лауреат Пулитцеровской премии в 2010 г. Автор журнала Индекс БезопасностиЧлен Совета по устойчивому партнерству с Россией с 2009 года.

Комментарии эксперта

Дэвид Хоффман

Индекс Безопасности получил эксклюзивные права на перевод и публикацию фрагмента из будущей книги авторитетного американского журналиста о неизвестных страницах истории противостояния СССР и США. Статья посвящена 1983 году и самым напряженным моментам холодной войны. Именно в этом году Рейган выступ...

Все Статьи
loading