Articles

The latest deadline for reaching a comprehensive agreement on the Iranian nuclear issue was set for July 1, 2015. On April 2, 2015, in Lausanne, Switzerland, the parties managed to draft Parameters for a Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action. However, as the negotiations between Tehran and the P5+1 con...

Andrey Baklitsky, Kayhan Barzegar, Wu Bingbing, Farhad Mamedov, Eman Ahmad Ragab, Tariq Rauf, Mustafa Fetouri, Mohammed Shaker

The roundtable is based on the discussions held in 2014 in the framework of the high-level working group ‘‘Iran in a Regional and Global Context’’ established by the PIR Center and the Strategic Studies Network. The participants attempted to analyze in an in-depth way the full spectrum of potential ...

All articles

News

03.06.2015

“If suddenly Iran is out of enriched uranium and it isn’t able to provide us with it, we will be able to address to IAEA. It is like to borrow money in an ordinary bank: one cannot rely only on personal income and has to go to a bank from time to time. It’s a certain airbag, which would secure us if the fuel cycle or other things go wrong, for example, due to political reasons. The Middle East is a very turbulent place: today we’re friends, tomorrow there could be another situation,” - Mohammed Shaker, Chairman of Egyptian Council for Foreign Affairs.

29.04.2015

The new issue of Security Index journal offers several predictions for the development of international security. First of all, during the round table "Russia, challenges to its security and answers: expectations for 2014 and reality–2015"  Dmitry Trenin, Dmitry Evstafiev, Armen Oganesyan, Vadim Kozyulin and Andrei Suzdaltsev, someone a year ago, someone a little more – have given us their predictions about what threats and challenges Russia will face and how she will react to them. And now in the spring of 2015, they don't just look at their own predictions of that absolutely unpredictable year, but also offer their views in 2015.   

21.04.2015

“The solution to the Iranian nuclear issue should not be reached at the expense of these countries’ interests. The security concerns of Iran’s neighbors should be addressed, though not in the comprehensive agreement itself. Providing security assurances to the region could also result in a more positive attitude towards the nuclear deal with Iran. At the same time, international efforts should be aimed at making sure that no country in the Middle East is facing a military threat from its neighbors, rather than playing into the narrative of the states aspiring to regional hegemony or special status” – PIR Center and Strategic Studies Network report “Iran in the Regional and Global Perspective”.


All News

Expert

Shaker Mohammed image
Name: Shaker Mohammed
Affiliation: Chairman, Egyptian Council for Foreign Affairs
Expertise:
Nuclear nonproliferation, historical aspects
Nuclear power in the Middle East
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Iranian nuclear program
Nuclear Weapons-Free-Zone in the Middle East
Nuclear disarmament
Biography :

Vice-Chair of the Board of the Egyptian Council for Foreign Affairs, Chair of the Board of the Regional Information Technology Institute, Chair of the Board of Trustees of Magdy Yacoub Foundation for Heart Research. Dr. Shaker held the position of Ambassador of the Arab Republic of Egypt to the United Kingdom (1988-1997) and was the Doyen of the Diplomatic Corps accredited to the Court of St. James. He was Ambassador to Austria and member of the Board of Governors of the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) in Vienna (1986-1988). He also held a number of positions at the UN, including UN Deputy Permanent Representative (1984-1986),  member of the UN Secretary-General’s Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters (1993 – 1998), Chair of the Advisory Board for 1995, and member of the UN Expert Group on Disarmament and Non-Proliferation Education (2001-2002). He holds a degree in Law from Cairo University and a PhD in Political Science from the Graduate Institute of International Studies, University of Geneva.

loading

Статьи

Крайний срок по достижению всеобъемлющего соглашения по иранской ядерной программе был определен на 1 июля 2015 года. 2 апреля 2015 года в Лозанне (Швейцария) стороны смогли согласовать черновой вариант параметров реализации Совместного Всеобъемлющего плана действий. Однако поскольку переговоры межд...

Речь не обязательно должна идти про топливо для электростанций, Иран может поставлять топливо для исследовательских реакторов, в этом случае не потребуется такое большое количество урана и можно обойтись значительно более скромными обогатительными мощностями. Здесь не так важен объем, можно назвать ...

Все Статьи

Новости

03.06.2015

«Если у Ирана внезапно закончится обогащенный уран и он не сможет нас обеспечивать, мы сможем обратиться к МАГАТЭ. Это как занимать деньги в обычном банке: не всегда можно рассчитывать только на личный доход, время от времени приходится идти в банк. Это такая подушка безопасности, которая подстрахует нас, если топливный цикл или что-то еще пойдет не так, например, по политическим причинам. Ближний Восток — очень непостоянное место: сегодня мы друзья, а завтра может быть совсем другой разговор», – Мохаммед Шакер, председатель Египетского совета по международным отношениям. 

29.04.2015

Новый номер журнала Индекс Безопасности предлагает сразу несколько прогнозов развития международной безопасности. Прежде всего, в рамках круглого стола «Россия, угрозы ее безопасности и ответы на них: ожидания–2014 и реальность–2015» Дмитрий Тренин, Дмитрий Евстафьев, Армен Оганесян, Вадим Козюлин и Андрей Суздальцев, кто-то год назад, кто-то чуть больше — представили нам свои прогнозы о том, с какими угрозами и вызовами столкнется Россия и как она на них отреагирует. И вот теперь весной 2015 г. они не просто глядят на собственные прогнозы того совершенно не возможного для прогнозирования года, но и предлагают свой взгляд уже в 2015 г.

21.04.2015

«Урегулирование ситуации вокруг иранской ядерной программы не должно достигаться за счет интересов стран региона. Опасения соседей Тегерана должны быть учтены, хотя и не в рамках переговоров по иранской ядерной программе. В тоже время, международные усилия должны быть направлены на снижение военной угрозы странам региона, а не на поддержку притязаний отдельных держав на региональную гегемонию или особый статус», ­– доклад ПИР-Центра и Сети стратегических исследований «Иран в региональном и глобальном контексте».


Все Новости

Эксперт

Шакер Мохаммед image
ФИО: Шакер Мохаммед
Место работы: председатель, Египетский совет по международным отношениям
Экспертизы:
Ядерное нераспространение, исторические аспекты
Атомная энергетика на Ближнем Востоке
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерная программа Ирана
Зона, свободная от оружия массового уничтожения, на Ближнем Востоке
Ядерное разоружение
Биография:

Заместитель председателя правления Египетского совета по международным делам, председатель Совета регионального института информационных технологий. Посол Шакер занимал должность посла Арабской Республики Египет в Соединенном Королевстве (1988-1997) и был главой дипломатического корпуса, аккредитованного в Сент-Джеймс. С 1986 по 1988 гг. работал послом в Австрии и член совета управляющих Международного агентства по атомной энергии (МАГАТЭ) в Вене. Занимал различные должности в ООН, в том числе с 1993 по 1998 гг. являлся членом Консультативного совета Генерального секретаря ООН по вопросам разоружения, в 1995 г. председатель консультативного совета. В 2001 – 2002 гг. член экспертной группы ООН по вопросам разоружения и нераспространения. Он имеет ученую степень в области права, полученную в Каирском университете и степень доктора наук в области политологии Института международных исследований Университета Женевы.

loading