Articles

Today the international community is anxiously tracking the situation on the Korean peninsula, where North Korea has massively expanded its programme of rocket and missile testing, and where the U.S. and South Korea are holding unprecedented-in-scale military exercises.

Against these troubling trend...

All articles

News

14.04.2017

“Since there is no quick and easy solution to the situation around the DPRK, it is worth considering interim solutions. What could realistically be on the agenda for talks right now? Preventing unplanned military actions and minimal confidence building measures. This is the main problem today; nobody wants a war by error. In future, it would be wise to desist from the talks focused purely on the nuclear issue. It would not make sense to discuss North Korea’s nuclear issue without also looking at missile defense and the rising conventional potential of countries in the region, or without looking at the problems relating to uncertainty over diplomatic relations. And within any discussion it is vital that issues open to interim deals are identified,” – expert on the DPRK military capabilities, Vladimir Khrustalev.

30.03.2017

“The first risk we can identify in the region is the risk of a “war by mistake”. Constant military exercises, huge concentration of forces, regular accidents can lead to an armed conflict,” – expert on the DPRK military capabilities, Vladimir Khrustalev.

15.02.2013

“North Korea’s actions appear senseless, the country established itself as a nuclear power long ago, and this conduct doesn’t do any good as a signal of the country’s defense capabilities. If North Korea planned this in order to compel the US to engage in dialogue and to “up the ante” in these conversations, as they did in 2009, then they gravely miscalculated.” – Georgy Toloraya, Director of Korean Programs at the Institute of Economics of the Russian Academy of Sciences

All News

Expert

Khrustalev Vladimir image
Name: Khrustalev Vladimir
City: Vladivostok, Russia
Affiliation: "Lifeboat Foundation" expert
Biography :

In 2005 he graduated the department of biochemistry and biotechnologies of the Academy of Environment, Sea Biology and Biotechnologies of the Far Eastern State University. The areas of research interests include security issues in Northeast Asia, contemporary local wars and armed conflicts, conflict prevention, WMD and their delivery systems, peacekeeping activities of international organizations, territorial disputes. Participant of PIR Center Summer School on Global Security 2008

Comments

 
 
loading

Статьи

Сегодня мир с тревогой следит за ситуацией на Корейском полуострове, где КНДР заметно активизировала свои программы ядерных и ракетных испытаний, а США и Южная Корея проводят беспрецедентные по размаху военные учения.

На фоне этой тревожной динамики Russia Confidential продолжает серию публикаций по...

Все Статьи

Новости

14.04.2017

«Так как быстрого и простого решения ситуации вокруг КНДР не просматривается, следует подумать о промежуточных решениях. О чем можно реально говорить и говорить прямо сейчас? О предотвращении непреднамеренных боевых действий и о «минимальных мерах доверия». Это первоочередная проблема: «войны по ошибке» однозначно не хочет никто. В перспективе следует отказаться от исключительно ядерного формата обсуждения проблемы. Обсуждение ядерного вопроса вне вопросов ПРО и наращивания неядерного ударного потенциала стран региона, вне проблемы неопределенности дипломатических отношений лишено смысла. И наоборот, в рамках контекстного обсуждения определяются конкретные вопросы для промежуточного торга», — специалист по военной программе КНДР Владимир Хрусталев.

30.03.2017

«Первая опасность, которую мы по-настоящему видим в данном регионе: опасность «войны по ошибке». Постоянные учения, постоянная огромная концентрация сил, регулярные чрезвычайные происшествия могут привести к вооруженному конфликту», — специалист по военной программе КНДР Владимир Хрусталев.

15.02.2013

«Акция, проведенная в Северной Корее, выглядит совершенно бессмысленной, страна давно уже зарекомендовала себя в качестве ядерной державы, и это испытание в плане обороноспособности ничего не добавит. Если же Северная Корея планировала такой акцией вынудить США к ведению  диалога и стремилась «повысить  ставки» в  разговоре со Штатами, как это было в 2009 году, то она явно просчиталась», - Георгий Толорая, директор корейских программ Института экономики РАН.

Все Новости

Эксперт

Хрусталев Владимир Владимирович image
ФИО: Хрусталев Владимир Владимирович
Местоположение: Владивосток, Россия
Место работы: эксперт "Lifeboat Foundation"
Биография:

В 2005 г. окончил отделение биохимии и биотехнологий Академии экологии, морской биологии и биотехнологий Дальневосточного государственного университета по специальности «биохимия». Сфера научных интересов: проблемы безопасности в Северо-Восточной Азии, современные локальные войны и вооруженные конфликты, предотвращение вооруженных конфликтов, оружие массового уничтожения и средства его доставки, миротворческая деятельность неправительственных организаций, территориальные споры. Выпускник Летней школы ПИР-Центра 2008 года. 

Обсуждение

 
 
loading