Articles

The editors decided to shift the focus a little from the problems of nuclear nonproliferation and arms control and talk about people. Nikita Degtyarev, PIR Center Information & Publications Program Coordinator, interviewed Sarah Bidgood, Director of the Eurasia Nonproliferation Program at the James ...

On June 2nd President Putin signed an executive order, which approved the Basic Principles of State Policy of the Russian Federation on Nuclear Deterrence. Even without considering the contents of the “Basic Principles”, it would not be an exaggeration to say that it is a development of major import...

How to prevent placement of weapons in Outer Space: challenges and solutions (Russian priorities) image

Recently, the threats of weaponization of outer space have been increasingly backed by both the doctrinal documents of several countries, first of all the United States, and the material content, which in turn is being formed through organizational measures, as well as improving military technical c...

After U.S. withdrawal from the INF Treaty it has become obvious that nearly fifty years old history of nuclear arms control is coming to its end.  
The New START treaty is set to expire on February 5, 2021 and there is little doubt that it will be the end of it. It could be extended if both countries...

Strategic stability in its classical sense – understood as a state of US-Russian relations under which neither side has incentives to launch a first nuclear strike – was developed during the Cold War. Such stability is achieved by “seeking agreements that improve survivability, remove incentives for...

All articles

Experts

Baklitskiy, Andrey A. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : PIR Center
Position : Consultant
Expertise :
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Iranian nuclear program
Arms control
Biography :

Analyst at the Institute of International Studies at the MGIMO University of the Russian Foreign Ministry, a Consultant at PIR Center, a member of the Deep Cuts Commission and expert at Valdai Club International. He has previously served as a Research Fellow at the Center for Global Trends and International Organizations of the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Foreign Ministry, PIR Center «Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation» Program Director and the Editor-in-Chief of monthly e-bulletin “Yaderny Kontrol” (“Nuclear Control”). Mr. Baklitskiy was a Visiting Research Fellow at the Center for Strategic and International Studies (CSIS) in 2019-2020. He taught courses on nuclear nonproliferation and emerging technologies at the MGIMO University and the Diplomatic Academy of the Russian Foreign Ministry. He regularly contributes to Russian and international media and has authored numerous articles and reports. Mr. Baklitskiy graduated from the Urals Federal University with a specialist diploma in regional studies. His expertise includes nuclear arms control, nuclear non-proliferation, Iranian nuclear program, and US-Russian strategic relations. 07/20

Buzhinskiy, Evgeny P. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : Chairman of the Executive Board, PIR Center; Co-Chair of the Trialogue Club International.
Expertise :
Political and military aspects of international security
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Military cooperation
Russia-NATO relations
START Treaty
Missile Defense
Military Use of the Outer Space
European security
Biography :

Lieutenant-General (Retired), Ph.D. Military Sciences. In the Armed Services since 1968. Graduated from the Military Institute of Foreign Languages, M.V. Frunze Military academy. 1976-1992 – served in different positions in the General Staff of the USSR and RF . From 1992 to 2002 – served in positions of: Senior Officer, Deputy Head of Direction, Head of Direction, Deputy Head of Department, Head of the International Treaties Department of  the Russian Ministry of Defense. Promoted to the rank of Major-General in 2000, to the rank of Lt.-General – in 2003. In 2002 he was appointed on the position of Head of the International Treaties Department – Deputy Head of the Main Directorate of International Military Cooperation of the Russian Federation Ministry of Defense. Retired from active duty in 2009. In 2009-2017 - PIR Center Consultant, then Senior vice-president. PIR Center's Chairman of the Executive Board since 2014. From 2016 – leading research fellow and Head of Center for Applied Political-Military Research of School of World Politics, M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University.  Deputy CEO of "Vega Radio Engineering Corporation" from  2009 to 2018. Vice-President of Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC).  Expertise: arms control, political and military aspects of international security, non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, military use of the outer space, Russia-NATO, Russia-U.S., Russia-China relations.

Bibliography

Evgeny P. Buzhinsky celebrates his 70th birthday

 

Cheban Alexander image
City : Odessa, Ukraine
Affiliation : Odessa Center for Nonproliferation
Position : Research Fellow
Biography :

Earned PhD in Political Science from Odessa National Mechnikov University. The topic of dissertation is connected with reasons of nuclear weapons proliferation in the Middle East. Participant of a number of international conferences on nuclear disarmament and global security problems. Participant of Summer School-2011 of the Russian Center for Policy Studies (PIR Сenter). PIR Center Intern in 2012. Author of publications devoted to the problems of nuclear proliferation and disarmament. Victor of PIR Сenter review competition for the film “Nuclear Tipping Point”. The sphere of scientific interests covers the problems of nuclear proliferation and disarmament, questions of theMiddle Eastregional security. Member of the PIR Center EKS Working Group on International Cooperation in Mass Destruction Weapon Nonproliferation and Physical Nuclear Safety in 2012.

Kolbin Alexander S. image
City : New York
Affiliation : PIR Center
Position : Consultant
Expertise :
Tactical nuclear weapons in Europe
Russian nuclear policy
Nuclear disarmament
Arms control
Biography :

Director for International Organizations Affairs, Volga-Dnepr Group (New York, NY, United States), PIR Center Consultant. Until 2018 – Advisor to the President and CEO of the Volga-Dnepr Group. Until 2013 – “Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation” Program Coordinator, PIR Center Research Fellow. In 2012 – Guest Researcher at the Stockholm Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). In 2017, as a Chevening scholar, graduated from King’s College London with MA in Non-Proliferation and International Security (with Merit). In 2011 graduated from National Research Tomsk State University with major in “International Relations”. Winner of the PIR Center’s 2010 Summer School in International Security. 07/20

Maslin, Evgeny P. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : PIR Center Executive Board member, Consultant ANO ASPECT-CONVERSION
Biography :

Colonel General (Ret.), one of the founders of Russia's programs for international cooperation in the dismantlement of surplus armaments, an accomplishment recognized by the award of several government honors, including the Order of the Red Star, Order for Service to the Fatherland, and many medals. A leading expert on nuclear security, nuclear weapons reductions, and verification mechanisms. Laureate of the Russian State Prize. Worked in USSR/Russian Ministry of Defense organizations for more than 40 years, including from 1992-1997 as head of the Russian Ministry of Defense 12th Main Directorate, which is responsible for the security of nuclear munitions. Author of many publications in Russian and English, including articles on nuclear security, the Cooperative Threat Reduction program, and nuclear nonproliferation. He was awarded the Order of Military Merit and the Order of Courage.

loading

Статьи

Отношения России и Запада стабильно ухудшаются. Значимым связующим звеном остаётся Венский документ 2011 года, принятый в рамках ОБСЕ. В его тексте прописаны конкретные процедуры взаимодействия между военными стран-участниц, которые позволяют сохранять приемлемый уровень взаимного доверия и контроля...

Многостороннее сотрудничество в области регулирования использования технологий искусственного интеллекта image

Полтора года назад в России была сформулирована стратегия развития ИИ. Два десятка стран, принявшие национальные ИИ-стратегии, видят пути развития искусственного интеллекта примерно одинаково, но интересы государств не совпадают, а часто – противоречат. Задача государственных органов, ответственных ...

Хэзер Конли, Владимир Орлов, Евгений Бужинский, Сайрус Ньюлин, Сергей Семенов, Роксана Габидуллина
Будущее российско-американского контроля над вооружениями: принципы взаимодействия и новые подходы image

Одним из первых решений администрации Байдена в области политики безопасности стало продление ДСНВ без каких-либо условий. ДСНВ представляет один из последних остающихся элементов международной архитектуры контроля над вооружениями и одну из немногих возможных областей продуктивного взаимодействия Р...

Монография посвящена актуальным вопросам международной безопасности и стратегической стабильности в условиях ускоренного развития информационно-коммуникационных технологий. Обосновывается важность обеспечения международной информационной безопасности. Рассматриваются возможности формирования под эги...

Международный дискуссионный клуб «Валдай»

9 февраля 2021 г.

 

Автономные вооружения перекочёвывают из конструкторских бюро в арсеналы армий по всему миру, и сообщения об их применении на поле боя поступают всё чаще. Как ни странно, раньше других беспилотники стали использовать в различных конфликтах...

Все Статьи
Баклицкий Андрей Александрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Консультант
Экспертизы :
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерная программа Ирана
Контроль над вооружениями в отношениях России и США
Биография :

Старший научный сотрудник Центра перспективных американских исследований Института международных исследований МГИМО, консультант ПИР-Центра, член Комиссии по проблемам глубоких сокращений ядерного оружия и эксперт Валдайского клуба. Ранее занимал должности научного сотрудника Центра глобальных проблем и международных организаций Дипломатической академии МИД России, директора программы ПИР-Центра «Россия и ядерное нераспространение», главного редактора ежемесячного электронного бюллетеня «Ядерный контроль». В 2019-2020 гг. он был приглашенным научным сотрудником Центра стратегических и международных исследований (CSIS). Он читал курсы по ядерному нераспространению и новым технологиям в МГИМО Университете и Дипломатической академии, регулярно дает комментарии российским и международным СМИ и является автором многочисленных статей и докладов. Андрей Баклицкий – выпускник факультета международных отношений Уральского федерального университета. К сфере его экспертизы относятся контроль над ядерными вооружениями, ядерное нераспространение, ядерная программа Ирана и российско-американские стратегические отношения. 07/21

Архив публикаций

Бужинский Евгений Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Председатель Совета ПИР-Центра
Экспертизы :
Военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Военное сотрудничество
Отношения Россия-НАТО
Договор СНВ
ПРО
Военное использование космоса
Европейская безопасность
Биография :

Генерал-лейтенант запаса, канд. воен. наук. Один из самых опытных военных дипломатов и экспертов России. В Вооруженных Силах с 1968 г. Окончил Военный институт иностранных языков, Военную академию имени М.В. Фрунзе. В 1976-1992 гг. проходил службу на различных должностях в Генеральном штабе СССР и РФ, в 1992-2009 гг. — старший офицер, заместитель начальника направления, начальник направления, заместитель начальника управления. начальник Международно-договорного управления Министерства обороны РФ. Звание генерал-майор присвоено в 2000 г., генерал-лейтенанта – в 2003 году. В 2002 назначен начальником Международно-договорного управления – заместителем начальника Главного управления Международного военного сотрудничества Министерства обороны РФ. Уволен с действительной военной службы в 2009 г.  В 2009–2015 гг. консультант, старший вице-президент ПИР-Центра. С апреля 2014 г. председатель Совета ПИР-Центра. С 2016 по н.в. – доцент Факультета мировой политики МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова, руководитель Центра прикладных политико-военных исследований. С 2009 г. по 2018 г. — заместитель генерального директора АО «Концерн радиостроения «ВЕГА». Вице-президент Российского совета по международным делам. Сфера профессиональных интересов: контроль над вооружениями, военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности, вопросы региональной и глобальной безопасности, нераспространение ОМУ, военное использование космоса, отношения Россия-НАТО, российско-американские, российско-китайские отношения. 10/20

Архив публикаций

Евгений Петрович Бужинский отметил 70-летний юбилей

Колбин Александр Сергеевич image
Местоположение : Лондон
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Консультант
Экспертизы :
Тактическое ядерное оружие в Европе
Ядерная политика России
Ядерное разоружение
Контроль над вооружениями в отношениях России и США
Биография :

В настоящее время – руководитель департамента рыночной экспертизы компании VDG, консультант ПИР-Центра. До ноября 2020 г. - директор по связям с международными организациями в группе компаний «Волга-Днепр» (Нью-Йорк, США). До 2018 года – советник президента группы компаний «Волга-Днепр»; до 2013 года - координатор программы ПИР-Центра «Россия и ядерное нераспространение», научный сотрудник ПИР-Центра. В 2012 году - приглашенный исследователь в Стокгольмском международном институте исследования проблем мира (SIPRI). В 2017 году с отличием окончил магистратуру Королевского колледжа Лондона (King’s College London) по программе «Нераспространение ОМУ и международная безопасность» (будучи стипендиатом программы Британского правительства Chevening). В 2011 году окончил Национальный исследовательский Томский государственный университет по специальности «Международные отношения». Победитель Летней школы ПИР-Центра 2010 года. 07/20

Маслин Евгений Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : член Совета ПИР-Центра, Советник АНО Аспект-конверсия,
Биография :

Генерал-полковник (в отставке), один из основателей международных программ содействия России в области утилизации избыточных вооружений, чьи достижения высоко отмечены рядом правительственных наград, включая орден "Красной звезды", "За службу Родине" и множество медалей. Крупный эксперт в области ядерной безопасности, сокращения ядерных вооружений и механизмов контроля. Является лауреатом Государственной премии РФ. Более 40 лет проработал в структурах Министерства обороны СССР/России, в том числе с 1992 по 1997 гг. начальником 12-го ГУ МО РФ, отвечающего за ядерно-техническое обеспечение и безопасность. Автор многих публикаций на русском и английском языках, включая статьи по ядерной безопасности, программе Совместного уменьшения угрозы и ядерному нераспространению. Награжден орденом "За военные заслуги" и орденом Мужества.

Чебан Александр Яковлевич image
Местоположение : Одесса, Украина
Место работы : Одесский центр по вопросам нераспространения
Должность : Научный сотрудник
Биография :

Кандидат политических наук. Участник Летней школы-2011 Центра политических исследований России (ПИР-Центра). Автор публикаций по тематике ядерного распространения и разоружения. Победитель объявленного ПИР-Центром в 2011 г. конкурса рецензий на фильм “Nuclear Tipping Point”. Стажер ПИР-Центра в 2012 г. Сфера научных интересов охватывает проблематику ядерного распространения и разоружения, вопросов региональной безопасности на Ближнем Востоке. Член Рабочей группы при ЭКС Пир-Центра по вопросам международного сотрудничества в области нераспространения ОМУ и физической ядерной безопасности в 2012 году. 

loading