Articles

Russian International Affairs Council

July 1, 2020

 

For Russia, the military developments and strategies of the United States recreate those challenges and threats that the USSR associated with President Ronald Reagan’s Strategic Defense Initiative (SDI). Adopted in 1984, the SDI programme involved...

Towards Global Security Through Equal Rights and Consensus image

The international relations system has been in the process of transformation since the early 1990-s. Today one may unequivocally say that the unipolar project, which has been constructed by the USA with the help of its allies, did not materialize.  There began the construction of a more just multipo...

NATO nuclear sharing arrangements: whether they are compliant with the NPT. Assessment of the current situation in the context of the upcoming NPT Review Conference. image

Throughout the Cold War, there was a race for the development and production of new types of nuclear weapons between the two great powers, the USA and the USSR. Both countries were deploying these weapons in Europe. After the collapse of the USSR, all nuclear weapons from the post-Soviet space were ...

The editors decided to shift the focus a little from the problems of nuclear nonproliferation and arms control and talk about people. Nikita Degtyarev, PIR Center Information & Publications Program Coordinator, interviewed Sarah Bidgood, Director of the Eurasia Nonproliferation Program at the James ...

On June 2nd President Putin signed an executive order, which approved the Basic Principles of State Policy of the Russian Federation on Nuclear Deterrence. Even without considering the contents of the “Basic Principles”, it would not be an exaggeration to say that it is a development of major import...

All articles

Experts

Arbatov, Alexei G. image
Affiliation : Acad., Russian Academy of Sciences, Head, Center for International Security, Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO)
Biography :

Academician of the Russian Academy of Sciences, Doctor of Historical Sciences. Head of the Center for International Security at the Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations (IMEMO). Member of the research council at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Russian Federation. Head of the research council department on strategic planning at Security Council of Russian Federation. Member of the Carnegie Moscow Center's research council. Author of many monographs, coauthor of over 30 joint publications, numerous analytical papers, articles and booklets on international security, disarmament, and military policy published in Russia and abroad. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2004.

Buzhinskiy, Evgeny P. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : PIR Center
Position : Chairman of the Executive Board
Expertise :
Political and military aspects of international security
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Military cooperation
Russia-NATO relations
START Treaty
Missile Defense
Military Use of the Outer Space
European security
Biography :

Lieutenant-General (Retired), Ph.D. Military Sciences. In the Armed Services since 1968. Graduated from the Military Institute of Foreign Languages, M.V. Frunze Military academy. 1976-1992 – served in different positions in the General Staff of the USSR and Russian Federation. From 1992 to 2002 – served in positions of: Senior Officer, Deputy Head of Direction, Head of Direction, Deputy Head of Department, Head of the International Treaties Department of  the Russian Ministry of Defense. Promoted to the rank of Major-General in 2000, to the rank of Lt.-General – in 2003. In 2002 he was appointed on the position of Head of the International Treaties Department – Deputy Head of the Main Directorate of International Military Cooperation of the Russian Federation Ministry of Defense. Retired from active duty in 2009. In 2009-2017 - PIR Center Consultant, then Senior vice-president. PIR Center's Chairman of the Executive Board since 2014. From 2016 – Associate professor and Head of Center for Applied Political-Military Research of School of World Politics, M.V.Lomonosov Moscow State University.  Deputy CEO of "Vega Radio Engineering Corporation" from  2009 to 2018. Vice-President of Russian International Affairs Council (RIAC).  Expertise: arms control, political and military aspects of international security, non-proliferation of weapons of mass destruction, military use of the outer space, Russia-NATO, Russia-U.S., Russia-China relations. 10/20

Bibliography

Evgeny P. Buzhinsky celebrates his 70th birthday

 

Kmentt, Alexander image
City : Vienna
Affiliation : Director for Disarmament and Non-Proliferation, Austrian Federal Ministry for European and International Affairs
Expertise :
Nonproliferation of nuclear weapons
Nuclear disarmament
Biography :

Ambassador Alexander Kmentt is an Austrian diplomat with a specialization on non-proliferation and disarmament issues. He has previously served as a Special Assistant to the Executive Secretary of Preparatory Commission for the Comprehensive Nuclear-Test-Ban Treaty Organization (CTBTO). Previous disarmament responsibilities in the Austrian Foreign Ministry include Deputy Permanent Representative of Austria to the Conference on Disarmament in Geneva and Deputy Director for Disarmament Affairs. During the Austrian EU Presidency in 2006, he chaired the EU Working Group on Non-Proliferation. Alexander Kmentt holds a Law Degree from the University of Graz and a Masters Degree in International Relations from Cambridge University, UK.

Kolbin Alexander S. image
City : London
Affiliation : PIR Center
Position : Consultant
Expertise :
Tactical nuclear weapons in Europe
Russian nuclear policy
Nuclear disarmament
Arms control
Biography :

Head of Market Expertise Department at VDG, PIR Center Consultant. Until November 2020 - Director for International Organizations Affairs, Volga-Dnepr Group (New York, NY, United States). Until 2018 – Advisor to the President and CEO of the Volga-Dnepr Group. Until 2013 – “Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation” Program Coordinator, PIR Center Research Fellow. In 2012 – Guest Researcher at the Stockholm Peace Research Institute (SIPRI). In 2017, as a Chevening scholar, graduated from King’s College London with MA in Non-Proliferation and International Security (with Merit). In 2011 graduated from National Research Tomsk State University with major in “International Relations”. Winner of the PIR Center’s 2010 Summer School in International Security. 07/20

Maslin, Evgeny P. image
City : Moscow
Affiliation : PIR Center Executive Board member, Consultant ANO ASPECT-CONVERSION
Biography :

Colonel General (Ret.), one of the founders of Russia's programs for international cooperation in the dismantlement of surplus armaments, an accomplishment recognized by the award of several government honors, including the Order of the Red Star, Order for Service to the Fatherland, and many medals. A leading expert on nuclear security, nuclear weapons reductions, and verification mechanisms. Laureate of the Russian State Prize. Worked in USSR/Russian Ministry of Defense organizations for more than 40 years, including from 1992-1997 as head of the Russian Ministry of Defense 12th Main Directorate, which is responsible for the security of nuclear munitions. Author of many publications in Russian and English, including articles on nuclear security, the Cooperative Threat Reduction program, and nuclear nonproliferation. He was awarded the Order of Military Merit and the Order of Courage.

Miasnikov, Evgeny V. image
City : Moscow, Russia
Affiliation : Lecturer, General Physics Department, Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology
Biography :

Candidate of Physical and Mathematical Sciences. Eugene Miasnikov was graduated from the Department of Aerophysics and Space Research of Moscow Institute of Physics and Technology (MIPT) in 1985. In 1989 he got his Ph. Degree in Physics from MIPT. His dissertation was devoted to the problem of polarized laser light propagation in ocean water. Subsequently, until the end of 1991, he worked in the Scientific Production Association "ELAS" (Zelenograd) as an expert in remote sensing of the ocean from airborne and space platforms. In 1992, Eugene was a visiting fellow at the Defense and Arms Control Studies Program (currently, Security Studies Program) of Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he studied current state-of-the-art of submarine detection and its impact on strategic stability in the world. Since 1992 Evgene Miasnikov has been working in the Center for Arms Control, Energy and Environmental Studies, and an active participant of the Center's research projects. In 2011 Eugene was elected the Director of the Center. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2011. Member of the Sustainable Partnership with Russia (SuPR) Group since 2013.

Radchuk, Alexander V. image
City : Moscow, Russia
Affiliation : Advisor to the Chief of General Staff, Russian Armed Forces
Biography :

Member of the Trialogue Club International since 2012. Dr., Prof., Advisory Board member. Graduated from the Bauman Moscow State Technical University, Faculty of Professional Development and Advanced Training of Military Academy of General Staff, Russian Academy of State Service under the President of the Russian Federation. He saw different duties in the Central Institute for Scientific Research of the Russian Defense Ministry. Radchuk Alexander is the author of more than 130 scientific works on the issues of strategic stability, nuclear deterrents. PIR Center Advisory Board member since 2009.

loading

Статьи

Дмитрий Алешин, Вадим Козюлин, Алексей Шушлебин

Скоро исполнится год, как человечество познакомилось с COVID-19, но до сих пор вокруг коронавируса остается много неясного: его происхождение, способ распространения, вызываемые им осложнения и вероятность повторного заражения.

Авторы данной работы обратили внимание на странную взаимосвязь между рег...

Орлов В.А., Семенов С.Д.

Эксперты ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов и Сергей Семенов — о перспективах российско-американского диалога по контролю над вооружениями.

Наследие президента США Дональда Трампа в области контроля над вооружениями будто пепелище. А над пепелищем еще и густой туман. Впервые после окончания Холодной войны Мо...

Валдай

18 декабря 2020 г.

 

В докладе Госдепартамента международной безопасности в киберпространстве декларируются две модели снижения «рисков в киберпространстве» для Соединённых Штатов – продвижение норм ответственного поведения государства и сдерживание. Отметим, что метод сотрудничества по вопро...

Ближний Восток по-прежнему остается одним из самых напряженных и нестабильных регионов мира. К застарелым проблемам, таким как арабо-израильский конфликт, добавляются новые вызовы: иракский, йеменский, ливийский и сирийский кризисы, международный терроризм и танкерные войны. Особую роль в дестабилиз...

Российский совет по международным делам

16 ноября 2020 г.

 

Сегодня мир вступает в сложную эпоху — эпоху кризиса сложившейся архитектуры стратегической стабильности, который во многом спровоцирован последовательным и односторонним выходом США из ключевых инициатив, составляющих основу системы контро...

Все Статьи
Арбатов Алексей Георгиевич image
Место работы : Академик РАН, руководитель, Центр международной безопасности, Национальный исследовательский институт мировой экономики и международных отношений (ИМЭМО) РАН им. Е.М. Примакова
Биография :

Академик РАН, д.и.н., член научного совета при министре иностранных дел РФ, руководитель секции по проблемам стратегического планирования научного совета при Совете Безопасности РФ, член научного совета Московского центра Карнеги. Автор нескольких монографий, соавтор более 30-ти коллективных трудов, многочисленных аналитических работ, статей и брошюр по проблемам международной безопасности, разоружения, военной политики, изданных в России и за рубежом. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2004 года.

Бужинский Евгений Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Председатель Совета ПИР-Центра
Экспертизы :
Военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Военное сотрудничество
Отношения Россия-НАТО
Договор СНВ
ПРО
Военное использование космоса
Европейская безопасность
Биография :

Генерал-лейтенант запаса, канд. воен. наук. Один из самых опытных военных дипломатов и экспертов России. В Вооруженных Силах с 1968 г. Окончил Военный институт иностранных языков, Военную академию имени М.В. Фрунзе. В 1976-1992 гг. проходил службу на различных должностях в Генеральном штабе СССР и РФ, в 1992-2009 гг. — старший офицер, заместитель начальника направления, начальник направления, заместитель начальника управления. начальник Международно-договорного управления Министерства обороны РФ. Звание генерал-майор присвоено в 2000 г., генерал-лейтенанта – в 2003 году. В 2002 назначен начальником Международно-договорного управления – заместителем начальника Главного управления Международного военного сотрудничества Министерства обороны РФ. Уволен с действительной военной службы в 2009 г.  В 2009–2015 гг. консультант, старший вице-президент ПИР-Центра. С апреля 2014 г. председатель Совета ПИР-Центра. С 2016 по н.в. – доцент Факультета мировой политики МГУ им. М.В.Ломоносова, руководитель Центра прикладных политико-военных исследований. С 2009 г. по 2018 г. — заместитель генерального директора АО «Концерн радиостроения «ВЕГА». Вице-президент Российского совета по международным делам. Сфера профессиональных интересов: контроль над вооружениями, военно-политические аспекты международной безопасности, вопросы региональной и глобальной безопасности, нераспространение ОМУ, военное использование космоса, отношения Россия-НАТО, российско-американские, российско-китайские отношения. 10/20

Архив публикаций

Евгений Петрович Бужинский отметил 70-летний юбилей

Кментт, Александр image
Местоположение : Вена
Место работы : Директор по вопросам разоружения и нераспространения, Министерство иностранных дел Австрии
Экспертизы :
Нераспространение ядерного оружия
Ядерное разоружение
Биография :

Посол Александр Кментт специалист в области вопросов нераспространения и разоружения. Ранее он занимал должность специального помощника исполнительного секретаря Подготовительной комиссии Организации договора о всеобъемлющем запрещении ядерных испытаний (ОДВЗЯИ). В министерстве иностранных дел Австрии Александр Кмент занимал должности заместителя постоянного представителя Австрии при Конференции по разоружению и заместителя директора по вопросам разоружения и нераспространения. Во время председательства Австрии в ЕС в 2006 г., он возглавлял рабочую группу Евросоюза по нераспространению.

Колбин Александр Сергеевич image
Местоположение : Лондон
Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Должность : Консультант
Экспертизы :
Тактическое ядерное оружие в Европе
Ядерная политика России
Ядерное разоружение
Контроль над вооружениями в отношениях России и США
Биография :

В настоящее время – руководитель департамента рыночной экспертизы компании VDG, консультант ПИР-Центра. До ноября 2020 г. - директор по связям с международными организациями в группе компаний «Волга-Днепр» (Нью-Йорк, США). До 2018 года – советник президента группы компаний «Волга-Днепр»; до 2013 года - координатор программы ПИР-Центра «Россия и ядерное нераспространение», научный сотрудник ПИР-Центра. В 2012 году - приглашенный исследователь в Стокгольмском международном институте исследования проблем мира (SIPRI). В 2017 году с отличием окончил магистратуру Королевского колледжа Лондона (King’s College London) по программе «Нераспространение ОМУ и международная безопасность» (будучи стипендиатом программы Британского правительства Chevening). В 2011 году окончил Национальный исследовательский Томский государственный университет по специальности «Международные отношения». Победитель Летней школы ПИР-Центра 2010 года. 07/20

Маслин Евгений Петрович image
Местоположение : Москва
Место работы : член Совета ПИР-Центра, Советник АНО Аспект-конверсия,
Биография :

Генерал-полковник (в отставке), один из основателей международных программ содействия России в области утилизации избыточных вооружений, чьи достижения высоко отмечены рядом правительственных наград, включая орден "Красной звезды", "За службу Родине" и множество медалей. Крупный эксперт в области ядерной безопасности, сокращения ядерных вооружений и механизмов контроля. Является лауреатом Государственной премии РФ. Более 40 лет проработал в структурах Министерства обороны СССР/России, в том числе с 1992 по 1997 гг. начальником 12-го ГУ МО РФ, отвечающего за ядерно-техническое обеспечение и безопасность. Автор многих публикаций на русском и английском языках, включая статьи по ядерной безопасности, программе Совместного уменьшения угрозы и ядерному нераспространению. Награжден орденом "За военные заслуги" и орденом Мужества.

Мясников Евгений Владимирович image
Местоположение : Москва, Россия
Место работы : Преподаватель, кафедра общей физики, Московский физико-технический институт
Биография :

Канд. физ.-мат. наук. Окончил факультет аэрофизики и космических исследований Московского физико-технического института (МФТИ) в 1985 г., а в 1988 г. - аспирантуру МФТИ. В 1989 г. защитил кандидатскую диссертацию, которая была посвящена проблеме информативности поляризационных измерений при лазерной локации водных сред. С 1988 по 1991 гг. работал в НПО "Элас" и НПЦ "ОПТЭКС"(Зеленоград) в качестве эксперта по дистанционному зондированию океана. В 1991-1992 гг. проходил годичную стажировку в Центрe по проблемам обороны и контроля над вооружениями (Defense and Arms Control Studies Program) Массачусеттского технологического института (Massachusetts Institute of Technology). Е. Мясников с 1992 года работает в Центре по изучению проблем контроля над вооружениями, энергетики и экологии, принимая активное участие в работе над различными исследовательскими проектами организации. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2011 года. Член Совета по устойчивому партнерству с Россией с 2013 года.

Радчук Александр Васильевич image
Местоположение : Москва, Россия
Место работы : Советник начальника Генерального штаба Вооруженных сил РФ
Биография :

Член Международного клуба Триалог с 2012 г. Канд. техн. наук, полковник запаса, советник начальника Генерального штаба ВС РФ, профессор Академии военных наук. Окончил Московское высшее техническое училище им. Н.Э.Баумана, Факультет переподготовки и повышения квалификации Военной академии Генерального штаба, Российскую академию государственной службы при Президенте Российской Федерации. Проходил службу на различных должностях в Центральном научно-исследовательском институте Министерства обороны РФ. Лауреат премии Ленинского комсомола. Автор более 130 научных трудов по вопросам стратегической стабильности и национальной безопасности, ядерного сдерживания, моделирования и оценки эффективности сложных систем. Член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра с 2009 года.

loading