International Security Index iSi

PIR PRESS LOGO

PIR PRESS NEWS

13.08.2018

Vyacheslav Zaytsev has turned 70. Congratulations to the most experienced PIR Center employee on his jubilee!

01.08.2018

“The NPT is the foundation of our life. It is the most important contemporary international treaty. There is just no treaty more important than the NPT. We must fight for this treaty at all costs; we are doomed without it. We must talk more about the NPT so that everybody knows about it,” – Ambassador Roland Timerbaev, PIR Center Advisory Board Member, one of the negotiators of the NPT.

15.07.2018

“А third party, be it a country or a non-state actor, can attack critical infrastructure of the US or Russia, making it look as if the aggressor was the other one, thus provoking war between them. In cyber space this is possible. Both the Russian and the US cyber doctrines allow them to react to major cyberattacks with all military means. Therefore, an effective direct communication and de-escalation channels between the two countries are a priority,” – Dr. Elena Chernenko, PIR Center Executive Board Member and Deputy Head of the Kommersant Newspaper Foreign Policy Department.

Working Group on Strategic Stability and De-escalation

In 2017, PIR Center in partnership with Centre russe d’etudes politiques (Geneva, Switzerland) and James Martin Center for Nonproliferation Studies (Monterey, USA) established a high-level Working Group on Strategic Stability and De-escalation in US-Russian Relations that brought together leading experts from the two countries. This project aims at promoting a constructive dialogue between Russia and the United States with a focus on arms control, nuclear modernization, crisis management, and future framework of strategic stability.

On December 9, 2017, the Working Group had a meeting in Geneva under the title “Pursuing Enhanced Strategic Stability in US-Russian Relations: An Agenda for 2018-2020.” The members of the Working Group include Dr. Alexei Arbatov, Head of the Center for International Security, Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations; PIR Center Advisory Board Member, Gen. Evgeny Buzhinsky, Chairman of the PIR Center Executive Board, Hon. Thomas Countryman, Chair of the Arms Control Association Board of Directors, Mr. Alexander Deineko, Deputy Permanent Representative of the Russian Federation to the United Nations Office and other International Organizations in Geneva, Hon. Robert Einhorn, Senior Fellow at the Brookings Institution, Gen. Vyacheslav Trubnikov, the Primakov National Research Institute of World Economy and International Relations Board Member and the PIR Center Executive Board Member, among others. The discussion was facilitated by Co-Chairs of the Working Groups Prof. William Potter (CNS) and Dr. Vladimir Orlov (PIR Center).

For questions regarding the activities of the US-Russian Working Group on Strategic Stability and De-escalation, please contact “Russia and Nuclear Nonproliferation” Program Director Adlan Margoev by phone +7 (495) 987 19 15 or via e-mail margoev at pircenter.org.

loading

Хронометр

принятие резолюции №1284 Совета Безопасности ООН, в соответствии с которой была учреждена Комиссия ООН по наблюдению, контролю и инспекциям в Ираке (ЮНМОВИК), заменившая ЮНСКОМ
07.12.1999

Индекс международной безопасности iSi

PIR PRESS LOGO

ПИР-ПРЕСС сообщает

Заместитель министра иностранных дел России Сергей Алексеевич Рябков дал интервью для проекта ПИР-Центра «Без галстука» image
05.12.2019

«Сесть за руль любимого автомобиля и ехать безостановочно куда глаза глядят», – заместитель министра иностранных дел России Сергей Алексеевич Рябков. 

На сайте ПИР-Центра опубликован доклад Олега Шакирова «Будущее Венского документа: перспективы развития мер укрепления доверия и безопасности в Европе» image
05.12.2019

В свете открывающегося заседания глав МИД стран ОБСЕ в Братиславе на сайте ПИР-Центра опубликован доклад Олега Шакирова «Будущее Венского документа: перспективы развития мер укрепления доверия и безопасности в Европе».

30.11.2019

«В настоящее время в мире разворачивается процесс, который можно было бы назвать «технологическим диктатом» (Technological Dictatorship): появляющиеся технологии требуют их внедрения в военной области для модернизации существующих или создания новых вооружений. В мире не найдется военного или политика, который бы признал, что стратегические решения принимаются искусственным интеллектом (ИИ). Однако сегодня мир знаком лишь с так называемым «слабым» ИИ», - директор проекта ПИР-Центра по новым технологиям и международной безопасности Вадим Козюлин.

Рабочая группа по вопросам стратегической стабильности и деэскалации

В 2017 году ПИР-Центр и Центр исследования проблем нераспространения им. Джеймса Мартина (ЦИПН) в Монтерее (США) в сотрудничестве с Centre russe d’etudes politiques (Женева, Швейцария) сформировали рабочую группу по вопросам стратегической стабильности и деэскалации в российско-американских отношениях при участии ведущих специалистов в области контроля над вооружениями из России и США. Рабочая группа призвана поддержать конструктивный двусторонний диалог по вопросам контроля над вооружениями, модернизации ядерных вооружений, разрешения конфликтов и будущей архитектуры стратегической стабильности.

9 декабря 2017 года рабочая группа провела встречу в Женеве по теме «Укрепление стратегической стабильности в российско-американских отношениях: повестка на 2018-2020 гг.» В заседании приняли участие двадцать экспертов, включая бывших и действующих чиновников и дипломатов, занимающихся российско-американскими отношениями и вопросами контроля над вооружениями. Среди участников были старший научный сотрудник Института Брукингса Роберт Айнхорн, руководитель Центра международной безопасности ИМЭМО РАН, член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра Алексей Арбатов, председатель Совета ПИР-Центра Евгений Бужинский, председатель Совета директоров Ассоциации по контролю над вооружениями Томас Кантримен, заместитель директора департамента по вопросам нераспространения и контроля над вооружениями МИД России Владимир Леонтьев, член дирекции ИМЭМО РАН и Совета ПИР-Центра Вячеслав Трубников и другие эксперты. Встречу модерировали сопредседатели рабочей группы основатель и советник ПИР-Центра Владимир Орлов и директор ЦИПН Уильям Поттер.

По вопросам, связанным с деятельностью российско-американской рабочей группы по стратегической стабильности, Вы можете обращаться к директору программы «Россия и ядерное нераспространение» Адлану Маргоеву по телефону +7 (495) 987 19 15 или по электронной почте margoev at pircenter.org.

loading