Events

10.12.2013

On December 10, 2013 the joint international seminar Russia-ASEAN Common Agenda in Cyberspace: Tackling Global Threats, Strengthening Cybersecurity, Developing Cooperation was held by PIR Center and the ASEAN Center under MGIMO University.

All events

Experts

  • Position : Special Advisor
  • Affiliation : PIR Center
complete list

News

11.11.2016

“Considering the multifaceted nature of today's non-traditional threats, security goes beyond the capabilities of States. To combat these challenges, it is necessary to use not only intergovernmental mechanisms, but also to involve non-state actors”, – Chairman of the UN Secretary General's Advisory Board on Disarmament Matters, Head of Centre for Non-Traditional Security Studies at Nanyang Technological University (Singapore) Mely Caballero-Anthony.

26.01.2015

The latest issue of the Security Index journal is partly devoted to the development of the global nuclear energy sector and nuclear infrastructure. Against the backdrop of the oil-and-gas needle and amid the continued devaluation of the Russian currency, the Russian nuclear energy sector seems to offer what may well be the only tangible, comprehensive, and carefully thought-out answer to economic upheavals. This particular branch of the Russian high-tech sector is not a prototype but a working engine.

05.12.2014

“Nuclear power plays an important role in ensuring the energy security, environmental protection and industrialization of Vietnam. Nuclear power is planned to make a significant contribution to Vietnamese national electricity generation in the period leading up to 2030, and will continue to make an even greater contribution up to the year 2050. In November 2009, the National Assembly of Vietnam passed Resolution on the investment of the Ninh Thuan Nuclear Power Project, which consists of Ninh Thuan 1 and Ninh Thuan 2 Nuclear Power Plants,” – Director General of the Vietnam Atomic Energy Agency, Dr. Hoang Anh Tuan.

All News

Perspectives for Russia-ASEAN cooperation in strategic spheres

“ASEAN outside the Western world is one of the most successful regional integration associations. ASEAN has achieved a unique position in the East Asia region – without being the most important organization in the region in economic and political sense, ASEAN has successfully gathered various inter-state configurations”.

PIR Center Advisory Board Member, Director of the MGIMO ASEAN Center Victor Sumsky

AP.jpg

In 2013, the ASEAN-Russia Dialogue Partnership celebrates its 17th anniversary. This is a multi-faced dialogue in the spheres of political, economic, and humanitarian cooperation. Russia-ASEAN summits are now held on a regular basis. At the same time, there is a need for transformation of this dialogue into tangible achievements.

PIR Center’s Project is aimed at developing practical recommendations for political and business communities of both Russia and ASEAN countries in strategic areas of their cooperation, including military-and-technical cooperation, space technologies, cyber security, and nuclear energy.

 

Full project description

PIR Center Analysis

Russia’s Eastward Pivot strategy, which was announced in the early 2010s, includes the following components:

  • Stronger political and strategic role played by Russia in the Asia Pacific;
  • Much closer economic ties with the East Asian countries;
  • Accelerated economic development of the Russian Far East an...

Looking for the best way of satisfying their electricity demand the developing countries of Southeast Asia – Vietnam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Burma, Thailand and the Philippines – refer to the opportunity the nuclear energy could open for them. Most of these countries are building their nuclear infrast...

Russia officially expressed its desire to join the East Asian Summit (EAS) before 2005 when the first annual meeting was held. The application was declined on the grounds that Russia's links with the ASEAN countries were not yet “substantive” enough. In 2010, there was finally the official invitatio...

All articles
loading

События

10.12.2013

10 декабря 2013 г. ПИР-Центр совместно с Центром АСЕАН при МГИМО (У) МИД России провел международный семинар «Общая повестка дня России и АСЕАН в киберпространстве: противодействие глобальным киберугрозам, укрепление безопасности и развитие сотруднич...

Все События

Эксперты

  • Должность : Советник
  • Место работы : ПИР-Центр
Все эксперты

Новости

11.11.2016

«Учитывая многосторонний характер современных нетрадиционных угроз, обеспечение безопасности выходит за рамки возможностей государств. Для борьбы с этими вызовами необходимо использовать не только межгосударственные механизмы, но и вовлекать негосударственных акторов», – председатель Консультативного совета по вопросам разоружения при Генеральном секретаре ООН, руководитель Центра изучения нетрадиционных вопросов безопасности Наньянского технологического университета (Сингапур) Мели Кабальеро-Энтони.

26.01.2015

Новый номер журнала Индекс Безопасности во многом посвящен развитию мировой атомной энергетики и ядерной инфраструктуры. Российская атомная энергетика на фоне углеводородной иглы и в условиях девальвации национальной валюты выглядит чуть ли не как единственный осязаемый, масштабный и тщательно продуманный ответ экономическим потрясениям – та домашняя заготовка высокотехнологичного экспорта, которая не экспонат в единственном экземпляре, а реально работающая отрасль.

05.12.2014

«Атомной энергетике принадлежит важная роль в обеспечении энергетической безопасности, защите окружающей среды и индустриализации Вьетнама. Планируется, что до 2030 г. атомная энергия составит значительную часть национального энергетического баланса страны, и ее доля продолжит возрастать до 2050 г. В ноябре 2009 г. Национальная ассамблея Вьетнама приняла Резолюцию об инвестициях в энергетический атомный проект Ниньтхуан. В рамках проекта планируется строительство двух АЭС», – генеральный директор Вьетнамского агентства по атомной энергии доктор Хоанг Ан Туан.

Все Новости

Перспективы сотрудничества России и государств АСЕАН в стратегических отраслях

«АСЕАН за пределами западного мира – одно из самых успешных интеграционных региональных объединений. АСЕАН добилась уникального положения в Восточноазиатском регионе – в том смысле, что, не будучи самой значимой в регионе экономической и политической величиной, АСЕАН успешно собирает вокруг себя различного рода межгосударственные конфигурации».

Член Экспертно-консультативного совета ПИР-Центра, директор Центра АСЕАН при МГИМО Виктор Сумский

AP.jpgСемнадцать лет  Россия и АСЕАН ведут многоплановый диалог в сфере политики, экономики и гуманитарного сотрудничества. Регулярно проводятся саммиты Россия-АСЕАН. Вместе с тем, назрела необходимость практических шагов и активной реализации совместных проектов.

Проект ПИР-Центра направлен на выработку практических рекомендаций для политического и бизнес-сообществ России и стран АСЕАН, направленных  на развитие сотрудничества в стратегических областях, включая военно-техническое сотрудничество, космические технологии, кибербезопасность и атомную энергетику.


Полное описание проекта

Анализ ПИР-Центра

Борис Васильев, Александр Калинин, Алексей Лукацкий, Михаил Медриш, Владимир Орлов, Виктор Тарусин, Михаил Якушев, Андрей Ярных

По инициативе ПИР-Центра представители государства, бизнеса, научного и технического сообщества в рамках круглого стола попытались ответить на вопрос о том, какие совместные интересы объединяют Россию и АСЕАН в укреплении глобальной безопасности в киберпространстве, а также оценить потенциал Юго-Вос...

Вьетнам начал работать над запуском ядерных программ еще с конца 1990-х гг. Сейчас Вьетнам вырабатывает 20 ГВт электроэнергии, причем треть из них с помощью гидроэлектростанций. Планируется, что уже в 2050 г. 15-20% потребности Вьетнама в энергии будет компенсировано за счет АЭС. О развитии вьетнамс...

Стратегия поворота России на Восток, сформулированная в начале 2010-х годов, предполагает:

  • усиление политической и стратегической роли России в Азиатско-Тихоокеанском регионе (АТР);
  • значительное расширение экономических связей со странами Восточной Азии;
  • форсирование экономического развития Дальнего...
Все Статьи

Материалы

Интервью с директором Центра АСЕАН при МГИМО В.В.Сумским, 26 апреля 2013 г.

Ссылка на материал

Все Статьи
loading