Articles

How to prevent placement of weapons in Outer Space: challenges and solutions (Russian priorities) image

Recently, the threats of weaponization of outer space have been increasingly backed by both the doctrinal documents of several countries, first of all the United States, and the material content, which in turn is being formed through organizational measures, as well as improving military technical c...

All articles

News

27.04.2020

The article deals with the exploration, development and use of outer space. Special attention is paid to the military potential of outer space and the threat of its weaponization. The corresponding legal regulation instruments are especially noted. Special emphasis is placed on measures aimed at maintaining strategic stability and preventing the arms race in outer space.

The paper has been produced for the joint PIR Center – CSIS project "Reducing nuclear risks during Great Powers Competition". We thank our partners in CSIS for their cooperation and support for this publication.

27.02.2020

«The Dual Degree Master`s Program creates a positive impression and its implementation is undoubtedly worth continuing. Classes, especially on specific topics, sparked great interest among students, they actively asked questions, thus lectures turned into interactive communication from time to time. The set of topics composing separate courses harmoniously fit into the general outline of the Master`s Program», – Modern Arms Control and Disarmament course instructor, member of the Advisory Board of PIR Center Andrey Malov.

23.09.2019

Students of the fourth cohort of the dual degree master program WMD Nonproliferation, Nuclear Policy and Global Security, which is run jointly by The Middlebury Institute of International Studies at Monterey (MIIS), Moscow State Institute of International Relations (MGIMO), and PIR Center, started their studies at MGIMO University in September.

All News

Expert

Malov, Andrey Yu. image
Name: Malov, Andrey Yu.
City: Moscow, Russia
Affiliation: Associate Professor, International and National Security Department, Diplomatic Academy of the Ministry of Foreign Affairs of the Russian Federation
Biography :

PhD in History. Graduated from Maurice Thorez Moscow State Pedagogical Institute of Foreign Languages. Worked at the Committee of the Soviet Youth Organizations. In 1991-1994  a researcher and lecturer at the Institute for Economic Strategies, Russian Academy of Sciences. In 1992 – a visiting scholar in Western International University (Phoenix, Arizona). Serves at the Ministry of Foreign Affairs since 1994. Participated in the OSCE activities in Nagorny Karabakh (1994-1996) and Bosnia and Herzegowina (1996-1998). Works on arms control, nonproliferation and disarmament issues at the Russian Ministry of Foreign Affairs since 1998. Participated in the negotiations on multilateral disarmament.

Comments

 
 

Expert's commentaries

How to prevent placement of weapons in Outer Space: challenges and solutions (Russian priorities) image

Recently, the threats of weaponization of outer space have been increasingly backed by both the doctrinal documents of several countries, first of all the United States, and the material content, which in turn is being formed through organizational measures, as well as improving military technical c...

All articles
loading

Статьи

Алексей Арбатов, Андрей Баклицкий, Владимир Дворкин, Федор Ладыгин, Кейр Либер, Андрей Малов, Евгений Мясников, Дэрил Пресс, Владимир Рыбаченков, Александр Савельев

14 июня 2017 г. в Москве состоялся международный семинар «Прорывные технологии, будущее сдерживания и вызовы стратегической стабильности» организованный ПИР-Центром, Дипломатической академией МИД России и Школой дипломатической службы имени Эдмунда Уолша Джорджтаунского университета (США). В рамках ...

Все Статьи

Новости

27.04.2020

В статье рассматривается вопрос изучения, освоения и использования космического пространства. Непосредственное внимание уделяется военному потенциалу космического пространства и угрозе его милитаризации. В статье отмечены соответствующие инструменты правового регулирования. Особое внимание уделяется мерам, направленным на поддержание стратегической стабильности и предотвращение гонки вооружений в космическом пространстве.

Доклад был подготовлен в рамках совместного проекта ПИР-Центра и Центра стратегических и международных исследований (CSIS, Вашингтон) «Как снизить риски ядерной конфронтации в условиях возрастающего соперничеств ядерных держав?». Благодарим наших партнеров в CSIS за сотрудничество и поддержу данной публикации.

27.02.2020

«Программа магистратуры создает положительное впечатление и без сомнения стоит того, чтобы продолжать ее реализацию. Занятия, особенно по узким темам, вызывают большой интерес у студентов, они активно задают вопросы, а лекции порой превращаются в интерактивное общение. Сам набор тематик по отдельным курсам гармонично ложиться в общую канву магистерской программы», – преподаватель магистерской программы двойного диплома в области нераспространения по курсу «Современные проблема контроля над вооружениями и разоружения», член Экспертного совета ПИР-Центра Андрей Малов.

23.09.2019

В Москве приступили к занятиям студенты четвертого набора международной магистратуры двойного диплома «Глобальная безопасность, ядерная политика и нераспространение ОМУ» – программы, реализуемой совместно ПИР-Центром, МГИМО МИД России и Миддлберийским институтом международных исследований в Монтерее (MIIS). 

Все Новости

Эксперт

Малов Андрей Юрьевич image
ФИО: Малов Андрей Юрьевич
Местоположение: Москва, Россия
Место работы: Доцент, кафедра международной и национальной безопасности, Дипломатическая академия МИД России
Биография:

Канд. истор. наук. Окончил переводческий факультет Московского государственного педагогического института иностранных языков им. М. Тореза. Работал в Комитете молодежных организаций СССР. 1991-1994 гг. – исследовательская и преподавательская деятельность в Институте экономических стратегий РАН (Москва). 1992 г. приглашенный преподаватель в Западном Международном Университете США (Финикс, Аризона). С 1994 г. – сотрудник МИД РФ. Работал в «горячих точках» по линии ОБСЕ: в Нагорном Карабахе (1994-1996 гг.), а также в Боснии и Герцеговине (1996-1998 гг.). С 1998 г. занимается в МИД РФ вопросами контроля над вооружениями, нераспространения и разоружения. Участник переговоров в области многостороннего разоружения. Доцент кафедры международной и национальной безопасности Дипломатической академии МИД России

Обсуждение

 
 
loading